evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

slice of life
Monday, April 2, 2001 | link

Aside from the Evany gum, the Evany hair clips, and the Evany petition (oh and the Evany flow chart, which tracked my evolution from a sperm/egg into the ideal employee), the other thing I brought to that "I'll do anything for an unpaid internship" presentation were cupcakes. Chocolate cupcakes! Each one had a frosting letter and they were arranged to spell out "E-V-A-N-Y-4-D-D-B" (I guess it helps to know that DDB was the name of the company I was trying to wow). And of the four people sitting around the boardroom table, only one person took a cupcake, and even he ate just half of it. I couldn't figure it out. It wasn't that they were afraid of thirsting to death because I had thought to bring milk (low- and regular-fat) and bottled water (for those freaky diet people). Maybe they were too overwhelmed by my dazzle-dancing to chew? Had they just finished lunch? But I don't care how full you are, there's always a vacancy in motel stomach for cake. Not only does it taste better than the smell of the sound of rain, but it's sexy! I was at a bakery recently, Sweet Lady Jane's, and one of their frosting artists came walking out with a cake in his arms. (Their decorators actually have a thumb-holed palette for the different colors and a special little studio. You can see it all if you take a trip to their bathroom -- the tubs of frosting, the cooling cakes, the raw batter dripping off paddles, and, oh, all sorts of other irrefutable proof that god exists -- making it one of the most scenic walks in LA.) And the boy-cake combo actually prompted a stirring in my southern states. Yes he was cute, whatever, but the cake! Frosting flowers! Fresh Berries! And a full four layers! Everything below my Mason-Dixon line was on FIRE! Yet those four people sat through my entire half-hour presentation, bare inches from top-grade cupcake meat, and they stuffed exactly none of it in their cake holes! What is wrong with this world?



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries