evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

six year anniversary at the lex
Sunday, Feb. 02, 2003 | link


That's me, karaoke-ing in the middle of a huge hairstack.
On Friday night I went to the sixth anniversary party of the Lexington Club -- six years! I can't believe it, I remember when the bar wasn't even there, my god -- and, for the first time since the "American Woman" debacle, I karaoked.

The song? Billy Joel classic "It's Still Rock and Roll to Me," which went pretty well considering I started off super low, leaving me nowhere to go when it came time to really get down at the end of each verse or stanza or couplet or whatever.

Me and my tight, free, limited edition Lexington tee! (This one goes out to my awesome e-pal Gene, who says I never post cute photos of myself. Look, I even put on lipstick! And I cropped out my ass, which is really swollen.)
But I couldn't really hear myself anyway, maybe the mic wasn't even on? I also managed to do a strange sort of herky jerking movement piece without falling off my shoes or spraying urine. All in all a triumphant return to the stage! They even gave me a free tee-shirt for my troubles.

The rest of the night I spent drunkenly trying to get people to set me up with their brothers, or their friend's brothers, or their brother's friends, and "dancing," really more just jumping up and down in one, three-inch square spot. It was impossible to do much more than that because the place was so cram-packed with like 7000 hot ladies. But out of all those fine felines, Jill was the fairest of them all, what with her Fornarina choker and grope-tempting top. I took a herd of photos throughout the night, and just look how ridiculously cute Jill looks in every shot!


That Jill!


Jill, me totally checking out Jill, and Liz (with new pink streaks, looking good, Liz ... ouch!)


Jill and Leila, owner of the Lex


Jill, and that's me looking heaven-ward and sighing "Oh Jill!"

After about three hours of all that action, I had to leave because my dogs were barking for serious, so at 12:30 I hobbled, oui, oui, oui, all the way home.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries