evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

busy, like a beaver!
Friday, Feb. 14, 2003 | link

Yesterday was one of those panting, whirlwindy days where I had all these things to do and my schedule was so compacted I wound up running twenty minutes late for everything -- not "running" actually, more "sweaty, urgent, officious powerwalking while carrying a dumb umbrella and like seven bags."

I had my first meeting with my teacher waaaay out at SF State, and it was great, full of insights and texmexcellent suggestions. So that's good. Then I raced (if riding MUNI can be considered racing) to the gym for some trotting on the trotter (snore cubed), then I MUNI-BARTed home for some speed eating and napping before shooting off to Mo's reading.

Now you may not know this about me, but I kind of hate poetry. (I realize that hating poetry reflects poorly on me. I'm sorry, I'm just not very reflective.) But Mo's reading was fun(ny)! And I'm not simply saying so because she gave me a Buffy valentine that fit perfectly in the teeny condom pocket on my absurdly low-riding black pants, the ones made out of the shiny, flammable material that makes the whit-whit sound when I walk. So yeah, Mo's poetry was super-fine: easy to follow and full of gutsy revelations that I related to and then laughed at myself over, laughed and clapped like a little baby watching a doggy lick things -- the only thing missing was the downy pre-hair, flapping in the wind. And diapers!

After the reading a group of us walked up to the Elbo Room for a drink, then I peeled off to the Make Out Room to meet up with friends Amy and Mike to see Virgil Shaw and his band kill. I also bought their latest CD. And got my second valentine of the night from Amy's friend Alice, which means I am now officially popular.

On a semi-related note (Virgil used to be in Dieselhed with Zac, who's in Dengue Fever), I just heard that on the eve of a mini-tour with Jonathan Richman, Dengue Fever's lead singer was picked up by the INS and is now trapped in jail! So terrible. There's going to be a fundraiser soon to help with legal fees, but I don't know when or where. But I'll keep you posted. Because that's what I do! See? Hello?

Up next: a very special valentine's day "Make Out" party. (!!!???) What to wear, what to wear? Lotion?



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries