evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

california polls, miette open
Monday, Oct. 06, 2003 | link


This shot is the best of the lot and it still doesn't do the new shop justice (but tell me, can heaven really be captured by a camera?). But see those cute glass shades? The sumptuous bouquet? The toothsome pink and brown and spun-sugar white walls? The teeming crowds?


How is it that Liz looks so cute after not an ounce of sleep? Is it the money?


Caitlin (Cake-lin, haha) perched atop a bounty of cakes: the stuff of certain, very specific fetish dreams.


Apple-cheeked Megan and a bowl of the cutest iced pear cookies ever, a synergy of perfection.


Cute cakes deserve cute plates, fancy, spendy, heart-wrenchingly cute plates. (This is also true about love.)

Yay, Miette's booth in San Francisco's newly refurbished Ferry Building is now OPEN! Saturday was the very first day, and Todd, Adrienne, and I went down to coo and ah over the insanely fabulous setup (which Liz and her partners, Megan and Caitlin, have been slaving away on for months, and this whole last week pretty much 24-7).

It is all seriously beautiful, the vintage industrial refrigerator they resurfaced, the cases all bursting with scenic treats, the matchy bouquets of flowers, the shelves full of cookies, weekender cakes, homemade marmalade, and brain-burstingly cute birdy plates. So, so great ... I am still very sore.

We hung out and snapped pictures and I bought my mom a triple-layer chocolate cake for her birthday (the best kind of gift, the kind I get to eat), Todd bought cookies to bring back to NY, and Adrienne got a cupcake, then we walked up Market Street to Ross Dress for Less to buy Todd a replacement for the suitcase my cat peed on (in her defense, the suitcase had been peed on before, at least a windbreaker that had once laid on top of said suitcase had been been peed on ... cats sure have smart noses, and dumb, dumb pee-holes.)

In other exciting news (and just in time for the historic, histrionic election): I typed some of the words that appear in Cockeyed Rob's hard-hitting and really important piece, California in Crisis, which should clear up any questions you may have about this whole recall thing. I sure hope that helps.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries