evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

drunk and savaged
Thursday, Oct. 30, 2003 | link

Last night Adam and I went out for a fancy dinner at Foreign Cinema and I got the most amazing beet salad, all yellow and pink and sweet and little. I also got ... very drunk. We both started with a glass of wine and then switched to drink-drinks, and then switched (and this, I think, was where things went off the rails) to the Lone Palm to meet up with film-maker and new-homeowner and cake-trough-photographer Sophie.

I was out of money by then, but my glass kept magically refilling as sorcerer's apprentice Adam traveled to the bar and back, bar and back. And, ohmygod, in the middle of all the drink maintenance somebody recognized fetching Adam from the show!

Adam says it's been happening for awhile now, but I hadn't seen it in action before. I think I was as thrilled to see an exited fan as the guy was to see Adam. He was all, "Adam!" and for a second I thought they knew each other, but then the man yelled over to his table, "Hey! You guys! It's Adam Savage! From MythBusters!" They were all smiling and buzzing and a wife leaned over and told us her husband watches ALL THE TIME. Then they, with extreme politenes, said, "well we don't want to bother you, we'll let you go back to your [excessively numerous] drinks." It was really cute and nice and weird.

We stayed there, happily drinking, for another hourish, until out of nowhere that abrupt "too drunk" feeling descended ("sure, I'll have another vod --"), and I shot up to a stand and put on my coat, all hot-spitty and panicking for home.

I didn't even brush my teeth, just peeled off my clothes the second I walked in the door and timbered onto the bed. When I woke up, at a dismal 5:30 in the morning, I felt dry and pasty with the dehydrated feeling of a pending hangover. And I thought of Adam, who had matched me drink-for-drink, floating in a wet suit in the middle of the bay, right where he was scheduled to be at that very moment. As "ecstatic not to be Adam" relief washed over me, I thought, he deserves every last ounce of fame and fortune he gets. Times two!

Congratulations Adam! Better you than me!



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries