evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

7-foot scooter squirrel, 15 fine-ass cookies, 2 halloween pics
Friday, Nov. 07, 2003 | link

Last night as I was walking along the water toward BART, the Giants' mascot (what is it a squirrel? a mole?) floated out of the rain at me. It was is in full regalia, INCLUDING the big head mask thing, which made it like seven feet tall. And it was riding an electric scooter, which made almost no sound as it ghosted its way past. It was pretty weird, what with baseball season now over and, you know, huge floating rodent?

Maybe a badger suit happens to be the best way to fend off the cold and rain?

When I got home, I made some conspicuously delicious chocolate chip cookies completely on accident. I had already mixed together the butter and sugar and eggs and vanilla when I discovered that my chocolate chip horde was dry (it had a good run, though -- my mom, who likes to buy Y2K-stockpile-amounts of her favorite products when they go on sale, gave me maybe eight bags of chocolate chips awhile back). But I managed to find half a bar of Scharfenberger chocolate in the pantry.

As I was shaving it into chippy bits, though, I managed to let the walnuts that I was toasting in the oven burn. I picked out the slightly less-burnt nuts, maybe eight little brains in all, and chopped those up with the chocolate. Something about the smaller chocolate shavings melting right into the dough and how that taste mixed with the almost burnt nuts, it was just freaky-good. Here, try some!

choco-toasty-nut cookies
(makes about 15 healthy-sized treats)

- 1 stick butter (if you use unsalted, and you probably should because Paul always says they use the salt to cover the rancid tast of over-the-hill butters, then you might want to add maybe 1/8 teaspoon salt)
- 3/4 cup sugar, half well-packed brown, half white
- hefty pour of vanilla (maybe 1 and 1/2 teaspoons?)
- 1 egg
- 1 and 1/8 cup flower
- 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
- 1 cup shaved nice chocolate (dark)
- 1/3 cup chopped almost-burnt walnuts

Roll into heaped tablespoon-sized balls then flatten onto baking pan with palm. Bake at 375-F degrees for 8 or 9 minutes. Spatula over to cooling rack, shove into pie hole as soon as cool enough not to sear.

Halloween was fun. The night itself I dressed up in my gym outfit ... the baggy "athletic pants", jog bra and jog halter thing, towel around my neck, headband and wrist bands, water bottle, and CD player and was a "New Year's Resolution". I met up with Jill and Marilyn at nine and we walked over to Sparky's to eat, and people were already hurling juicily in the streets. After dinner we went back to Jill's so the two of them could get dressed. At about 11:30, they were ready to head off to this warehouse party, but by then I was already so sleepy (after Thursday night at Popscene and Wednesday night at the Lone Palm and Tuesday night at Doc's Clock) and not at all in the mood to be wearing an "explainer"-type costume, so I begged off and happily skipped home to curl up in my bed and hug myself to sleep with my "home before midnight" glee.

Saturday night Jill and I went to a party at Liz's friend's Kate and Shane's house, and it was really nice. Good food, top-drawer booze, and EVERYBODY dressed up -- the cosumes were so put-together, and so omi-everywhere, the whole thing kind of looked like a movie set.

Jill came in her grandmother's wig and heels and neck flower choker and was a "woman looking to cheat on her husband," and I went as Marbles, with a black kitty-ears cap, a black skirt, black heels, black fishnets, black shirt with white under-layer shirt, a red studded leather choker, and a long black neck-twist thing tied to my back beltloop for a tail -- I usually wouldn't think of myself as one of those "sexy kitty costume" girls, but it's what I had in the house, and really, it was only semi-sexy (which is weird enough ... "I don't have a THING to wear, oh except this semi-sexy kitty costume").

We danced a bunch and I randomly ran into my old editor from The Science, which stoked me to the maxium. (I used to write these sort of science-infused advice columny things for kids, answering questions like "why do my ears ring after listening to ROCK?" or "how come the hair on my legs stops growing at a certain length?" Total awesome-cubed job.) And the end!


Kitty Marbles and "Woman out to Cheat" dance to "Electric Avenue"!

Halloween pocket steak!



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries