evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

new york, administered orally
Tuesday, Apr. 27, 2004 | link

New York is the greatest. Even though the sweet, tweeting springtime sun I was promised has bait-and-switched to grey and wet rain, and even though the new pair of jeans I just bought are so stiff they wore a hole in the back of my right knee today, and even though the city is now one, solid Starbucks ... it's okay. All is forgiven, NYC. It takes more than umbrellas and jeanblisters and grande foamies to tarnish a specialness such as yours!

Of course it's easy to forgive a city that never stops feeding me, not for one American second. Saturday Megan and Matt had us all over for hummus and foie gras and a great number of rum-based drinks, primarily a "Mount Gay + soda + Rose's Lime" concoction recommended by Paul that we kept trying to fix a name to. I suggested "Gay, Hey, Hey" and "The Mountie", Paul wanted to call it "The Dismount", but in the end we discovered that the drink was happy to answer to pretty much anything, even just an unsteady point-point-point into an empty glass.

Sunday was princely: Jeffrey and I went out shopping for wrappables for his girlfriend Teva's pending birthday. After weaving out and in to a number of stores full of steak-themed lunch pails, doormats, and shower curtains, we stopped at a cafe for coffee and flowerless chocolate minicake, and what were they playing loud and proud therein? The new Prince album. And, consequently, what album did I spend the rest of the afternoon trying to locate? The new Prince album! (Finally we found it at a record store in St. Marks ... right across from the Starbucks!) And then, when Paul took me to dine on sausages and lamb and pork and shad at the wood-smoked Savoy, on which street was the restaurant? Prince Street. Coincidence? Density.

Today I went to H & M and found NOTHING CUTE TO BUY, which left me simultaneously disappointed and relieved, a confused emotional state that led me directly into the comforting arms, and buns, of a hotdog vendor. Then Sarah and I went out for coffee, twice! And Laura and I went for dinner, once!

And in the near future: Italian foods with Paul and his cute mother, a dinner of secret hamburgers, a night of How to Kick People, and, somehow someway, a lingering detour to the Doughnut Plant.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries