evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

so un-school!
Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004 | link

School is kind of suxsy right now. In theory I only need to complete two more classes to graduate, one of which is the thesis-writing class, which really isn't a class in the strict sense. Operating under the hope that I have only one more classy class to take, though, the course listing is so sparse after all the cutbacks, there still isn't even one even remotely appetizing class on offer this semester that meets my requirement. And I kind of promised myself that I was going back to school only to take classes that stoked me hard, meaning I wasn't going to suffer through anything just for a degree (because, really, what functional value does a Masters in Creative Writing get anyone, shit). Plus tuition has just about doubled since I started school, it now costs just under $1100 to go part time (the cost whether I take one or two classes), it's just too much! For shitty classes!

So I was going to just take the semester off. But! Then I started worrying that maybe now's the time to class it up, what with the unemployment. So I started thinking that maybe I would take this one class that kind of sounded okay and go to the first day of class to at least check it out. But now the SFSU website suddenly stopped accepting credit cards? Last semester, they stopped taking Visa, which was annoying enough because that's all I have, but I was able to wriggle out a workaround. But now it's too late and ...

[Honk-chew, honk-chew]

Hohhh? What a soundly boring parade of words about all the tight little circles in my brain. I'm sorry. Just ... in summary: there are no good classes to take this semester and even the lame compromise class is turning out to be prohibitively obstacle-ridden to take, so! I'm taking the semester off and spending the would-be first two weeks of the Fall semester driving across country with Jill to go see the big rock president heads instead.

Oh except one last thing about school: I got my grades back from Spring semester and in some sort of dimly ironic flip-flop, I got a straight-up "A" in the Nabokov class, the one I was so sure I was going to fail, and wound up with an "A-" in the Sherlock Holmes class, which was supposed to be the shoe in. Life!

The best part of all, though, were the cryptically complimentary comments that my Nabokov teacher wrote on my final paper, specifically: "your ability to cite specific details of the novels and stories bodes nothing but good. Don't let anybody take that away from you" (quick, give me your wallet and your ability to cite specific details) and "you are way out ahead of the competition -- at least during this stage of your studies" (huh). Perhaps it was he who left me the hyperbolically fine feedback I recently received about my stellar eBaying: "It was as if a beautiful angel came down from heaven just to try eBay"?



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries