evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

ode to a bathroom
Friday, Jul. 30, 2004 | link

When I was little, like starting in the fourth grade or so, my mother and I would play hookey sometime around the holidays and go into the city for a shopping day. Traditionally we bookended the event with a breakfast of Swedish pancakes at Sears Fine Food (which has gone through its own upheavals) and a nostalgically delicious dinner of fish and chips from the hooker- and cockroach-riddled Old Chelsea on Larkin (we always took it to go). In between, we shopped around Union Square, making sure we stopped to coo over the SPCA puppies and kitties digging around present-wrapped litter boxes in the windows at Gumps. And we always, always went in to I. Magnin's to use, whether we really needed to or not, the glorious deco bathroom with its classy, stand-alone pumps of scented Magnin soap and lotion and foyer packed with velvet settees and flatter-lit makeup mirrors.

Then Macy's bought out Magnin's and lamed everything up. The fancy lotion and soap are gone. The foyer has been converted into a jarring flank of glaringly modern and slipshod bathroom stalls. The solid DOOR doors on each of the old stalls are still there, but the cute, swivelling "Occupied"/"Vacant" locks are gone. And now the marbled walls are littered with the typical unsightly and discordant evolution of towel dispensers. Change is dumb.

But some of the original righteousness still flickers, here and there:


I.Magnin's faded glory.

Go and pee for yourself: Magnin's beautiful bathrooms are hidden up on Macy's 6th floor, back by the wrapping counter. And make sure you penetrate past the layer of fluorescently criminal stalls.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries