evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

links, finds, and activities
Thursday, Aug. 12, 2004 | link

It certainly feels busy here at me HQ, but when I look back on the week, I can't really point to any one thing that I've done, other than go out every single night and spend money. Monday: Napoleon Dynamite for the SECOND time, I just really like the way that kid moves, plus the simplicity of "comfortable love=tetherball." TUESDAY: Maggie and I met for breakfast and then later for drinks with Bryan at the secret no-name bar that looks like an apartment building where Bryan won a free drink just for knowing that "Still Rock and Roll to Me" is sung by Billy Joel (Billy Joel again, weird, the whole world is Movin' Out?) and the bartender earned my endless love for introducing me to the the term "poodoo," as in, "please let me know if that drink tastes like poodoo." WEDNESDAY: Dirty Power at the Bottom of the Hill! Rowr, I scratch you.

TODAY: I'm doing some "happy birthday Leisa!" baking, possibly some pie, possibly some brown chocolate chili matter. (TONIGHT: drinks and snacks ... dracks, at Public, followed by champagne and treats at Sunny's ... the decadence of unemployment, wow.)

Also: I posted a bunch of stuff for sale on eBay, a project which felt deceptively like having an actual job, snapping pictures, tapping my keyboard, busy, busy. And I migrated my domain to a new, cheaper, less-insane ISP. (I had the same ISP for ... eight years? ... and its support team was buried beneath so many buyouts that I no longer knew who to call when my site went down, which happened with frustrating regularity, and when I did manage to get through, they always sounded so surprised, "Wait, let me get this straight, you're hosting a website? Here?") Of course the transfer led to the inevitable suspension of email, followed closely by an embarrassing spiral of panic on my part, which I funneled directly into "help me!" emails, support tickets, and phone calls, which also felt suspiciously like a full-time job. (Though, nice, they handled me with grace and aplomb. Thank you, patient and soft kitties!) And I ingested a whole lot of s'mores, I can't stop, there's the box of graham crackers-cracker-crackers threatening to go stale, and the fat bag of mallows sitting right there (I wish they wouldn't sell them in such HUGE numbers, though I guess I, more than anyone, see why they do). And I bought an unfathomably lovable and utterly unnecessary orange wallet, an unfathomably lovable and utterly unnecessary orange VEGAN wallet. And, one small victory of restraint, I got the IKEA catalog and only wanted one thing, the nautilis lamp, and it's only $4.99. A glowing sea creature for less than the cost of half a movie!

- - - - - - - -

Looky at Luke's new Come for Dinner, Stay for Breakfast site, full of recipes and fabulous cute-hand Luke illustrations. How does he do it, how does he know?

- - - - - - - -

Me: oh man, check out the tone of this weird side-project craziness at target.
Me: they have the cute seatbelts??
Me: but they�re a lot of money?
Me: who, in the target customer base, is THAT for?
Paul: the target hipster
Paul: have you not seen the target hipster?
Me: "what makes a pillow so doubleplus good?"
Paul: that is whom it's for!
Me: i guess so?
Paul: this all smacks of stuff they are trying to get rid of though!
Me: that nutastic vest?
Me: with sipping pouch?
Paul: exactly!
Paul: "what are we going to do with all this CRAP??"
Paul: "i know!"
Me: hahaha
Me: it's kind of hysterical, the copy
Me: in the true sense of the word.
Me: "They're on the CUTTING EDGE. Before their time. And all right here, RIGHT NOW. But only for a week, then they're replaced by the even more ENVY-LICIOUS. So shop 'em now before this boat leaves the dock. TOOT TOOT!"
Me: actually, it's kind of how *I* write, which is probably why it's so disturbing
Paul: yeah, it reads like mental-asylum evany goes to marketing school
Paul: "(and to get all tiger on you)"
Paul: it looks like a panicky bombing comedian
Me: oh my god, the Gawker Target opening??!!!!
Paul: yes.
Me: horrifying!!!
Me: fascinating!
Me: and a little obscene
Me: haha!



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries