evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

eno (eYES!), hiking, and sausage
Monday, Dec. 06, 2004 | link

I had kind of an awesome, if entirely sleep-deprived, weekend!

Friday night I went for terrifically ingestible Burmese food (lots of chickens) followed by a night of Enorchestra, who, dressed entirely in white, played downy covers of Eno's best deep into the night. I didn't get into bed until 2:30, which generally speaking isn't all that remarkably late, but which was criminally late in light of my very dark 5:30 wakeup the next morning. Tired, tired, and with my rock handstamp still very much intact, I managed somehow to BART my way over to Kristin Windbigler's land, and she and her husband and I went for breakfast at the Applepounder or whatever (loganberry jam!) and then she and I drove to Bolinas, where we stopped for even more coffee (and an eyefull of sunburned hippies, standing and zombie-swaying in a sea of dogs and dirty designer cotton) and went on an 8.5 mile hike past some ocean and lakes and waterfalls.


Two weirdly smug poses with nature and alterna-floating baseball cap, plus one picture of the end of the world.

The scenery was California-amazing and the weather was perfect for strolling: warm enough for tee-shirts but brisk enough for you to want to keep walking. I also had a bran-muffin with sticky nuts on top.

The whole curvy ride back, the heater roaring, I kept drifting off to sleep mid-sentence, doing the head bob-and-jerk thing and wondering -- with warm, remote, laughing-gassy thoughts -- if what Kristin had just said, about waving and honking?, was being said inside or outside my head.

When I got home, I took a bath and a 45-minute nap, then Marco came by to pick me up and, after a brief 45-minute pause for a coat-swapping what-to-wear panic (mostly mine), we raced to Walzwerk for some serious sausage- and root-vegetable-eating and tall, tall beer-drinking in honor of Liz's Ivan's birthday.


Ivan and Liz, a war-torn photo, and lights!

And then we all went to Dylan's for drinks, and then, and then ... and then I died of sausage and beer and hiking cancer.

Sunday I walked around Lake Merritt and saw geese and egrets and schizophrenics looking for Andy Williams tickets and screaming cellphone breakup junkies and drunks in santa hats, and then I ate some fruit and also an IKEA hotdog, and half a cinnamon roll. And then I watched Elf!



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries