evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

comedy, pote, ong-bak, laptop cozy
Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005 | link

The third annual Comedy Night is coming up, on Friday, April 1. I went last year, and I was completely blind-sided by the funny of Patton Oswalt, he really is so, so, so, and anyway he's going to be there AGAIN this year, along with lots of other things, for a sliding, good-cause price of $15 to 25.

P.O.T.E (Paul's online text editor) has gotten a complete(ly cute!) redesign, with a compelling and adjustable look and feel, plus increased functionality. Now you can type up all your notes, essays, and theorems on a borrowed computer -- at the library, cafe, the house or apartment of a SEXY LOVER -- and then access whatever files you create later from any other web-connected computer. Just type straight into the fully customizable typing interface, then save your doucments onto your very own password-protected POTE land. It's free (but donations are strongly encouraged by me, Evany Thomas), and there's even a spellcheck function! See? Good things do happen. On the internet!

Ong-Bak! A few weeks ago, Roger Ebert came by the offices to talk to a group of high school students, and I hid in the back so I could eavesdrop and he was AWESOME. He has that true storyteller's talent, where things begin to wander increasingly far afield, and you start to worry, oh no, has Roger Ebert started to lose it maybe? Does Roger Ebert need some juice or a cookie? But then he brings it all back around in a nice, tidy knot that makes you "ahh." Anyway, when on of the students asked which movies he was impressed with most as of late, he mentioned Ong-Bak, a Thai battle movie that features the amazing Tony Jaa, who does all his own stunts (diving foot and head-first, like an unopened jackknife, through a barbwire ring, skidding under a car flattened into the splits, cartwheeling sideways through the foot-wide space between two moving pieces of glass, etc.) sans wires. As Roger Ebert said, "Just the fact that you can go to a theater and see a man running across people's heads, that's pretty great."

Jay and I wrote a tutorial for Webmonkey, which covers Photoshop's Actions and Batches, but more excitingly, features the hotdog laptop cozy that I crocheted.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries