evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

laid (off) in full! again!
Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2005 | link

Guess who got laid off! Again? EVANY THOMAS! After just three months at Friendster, I, along with 50% of the company, have been relieved of the burden of employment as of this past Friday, September 9. It was kind of a shock! Especially since I had been keeping my head down, happily working away on a bunch of new projects (revamping the index, start, and profile pages...all of which went live today). But I am entirely happy to not be making the commute to Mountain View, which could eat up five whole hours on a bad day. And of the three ex-Friendsters I went out to lunch with after the ax fell, I've been been laid off way, way fewer times -- their average was four layoffs each, and with some of their departures being far less gentle than Friendster's. So it appears I've gotten off light lo these many years working on the interweb.

In other relatively good news, a very nice lady at the EDD told me today that if I wait until October 3rd to apply for unemployment, I'll get a lot more money a week (maybe as much as 400 versus 125) and for a lot longer (24 weeks versus 12). So I'm essentially happy, if a little derailed. Just like in LIFE.

I also crocheted a baby blanket.

And now: I am off to the CCA South Gallery to see Keith's photos for one millisecond, and then to Fishermans's Wharf (uh), to The Dirty Martini (oh), to see The Fivehundreds seduce people's ear holes with their 100%-lean and fully righteous rock!

(Note to self: be sure not to forget the frumpy looking woman in Genova Deli, with the sweaty sweat pants and the limp hair and the, what?, the most amazingly groomed nails, tipped with actual dollar bills! Remember? She was standing next to the woman who looked not entirely unlike she'd done some hard time, asking two teenaged boys if they knew what "jailbait" meant.)

Note from the road: it turns out The Dirty Martini is right across the street from San Francisco's one, only IN AND OUT BURGER. Things are surely looking upupUP!



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries