evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

perfect bag two, electric boog-a-deux
Tuesday, Nov. 01, 2005 | link

It's alive! And it's here!

- - - - - - - -

It was Heidi Meredith's birthday this weekend and we celebrated by taking a taxi -- helmed by an insane Mississippian of Korean descent with leaking pillow-shaped eyes that had a tendency to wander in the direction of any pretty girl on a street corner, an ample gun collection, and a love of talking about his close rocket engineer friend with a Medal of Honor and a six-figure income and green pants-- to the Bubble Lounge, where we put many bubbles in our mouth along with birthday cookies from Citizen Cake. The night ended, as it very often does, at Sparky's Diner, where we tamped down the champagne with some greasy brown things, and then I walked home in the rain, which is an entirely nice thing to do every once in awhile.

Saturday Marco and I went to Muir Beach, where I gleefully manhandled sea anemones, starfish, hermit crabs, and one banana slug. And then on our way to Bolinas for lunch we saw a couple dozen dozing seals sunning themselves on a stretch of sand in the middle of the lagoon. The sand on our side of the shore fingered way out into the water, so we managed to get well within barking distance of the seals. We also got up close and personal with the awesomely hyper boy in a skeleton costume, whose private game of randomly throwing very large rocks in multiple directions infused our lazy day with an unexpected undercurrent of danger, making the whole scene feel like something out of an exotic video game: "after clearing the 'Pretzel' level, Marco and Evany face the tricky 'Skeleton Boy Lagoon (with Seals)'."

And then on Sunday Marco and I went to my dad's big annual barbershop chorus show. This year's theme was "There Is Nothing Like a Dame," and there were many props, including grass skirts, sailor suits, bare chests harnessed in coconut shells, ladies of the night, and a fourth-wall-breaking snacks vendor. It was a very good year for barbershop. And a very, very good weekend.

- - - - - - - -

Unrelatedly: I am strangely drawn to this magnetic necklace. Strangely drawn.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries