evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

bands, quarters, cake
Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2003 | link

I went to see The Kills with Erika last night, and they were so insanely sexygood, I think maybe I'm a little pregnant now? In my hole??


One of Erika's magicky no-flash pics of the sexrockshow.
I don't know WHAT those two were doing up there (space drugs? dianetics?), but it was like nothing I've ever seen before. So much sweaty chemistry and such a wall of noise (like Morphine only bigger and louder, and without that small whiff of "bar band" that Morphine sometimes had, rip). Shit. At one point, they set up their microphones so they could tear out the lyrics directly into each other's faces, and I swear I felt like I was watching them do sex, even though they never touched, really -- just jerked their bodies at each other in ways I've not seen bodies jerked outside of dirty dreams. Shit twice!

The first opening act, Oakland's own The Lovemakers, were awesome, too, but in a completely different way, a bouncy hyper-cubed 80s kind of way. It was another boy-girl team (backed by a white-suited synthesizerer), and they also moved in ways I'd never seen before, but without all the "sex without a shower" energy of The Kills. She was doing this modified robot thing, and he was doing this, I don't know, underwater plant thing? Which doesn't sound all that hott, but actually was. During a "take your clothes off"-themed song, she somehow managed to rub his shirt off, and lo, look who secretly has one of those amazing soccer-boy bodies! I was all, "I don't remember the 80s being THAT good!" And then I did some high-energy, high-kick dancing.

All in all, a much better show than Elefant, the 80s throwback band I saw last week. I did like Elefant, I did (welcome home, baby-blue jeans so tight I could see not only his style of packing but also that he had just enough change for Muni and a phone call), but the freakishly-high-energy poppoppop Lovemakers version of the 80s is just more to my liking than Elefant's remote, posturing version (though I totally appreciated all the super-serious, blank-stare, "can we turn the lights down about ten percent for this next one?" stuff).

What else? Saturday I worked a full shift at the farmer's market -- 7 in the morning to 2:30 -- at Liz's organic bakery booth. It's been a long-duck-dong time since I've spent seven plus hours on my feet, smiling at the public and making change and generally tapdancing for money. And it was HARD. So tiring. But after I got home and took a nap, I cracked open a beer and it tasted so obscenely good ... I'd forgotten just how much physical labor (which, compared to my stagnant office job, is what it felt like) makes beer taste great! Luckily, I got to drink a whole bunch more of it when people came over later that night for Quarters and Cake. Quarters and Cake! Haha, rimmers.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries