evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

los angeles do-over
Friday, Sept. 12, 2003 | link

This past weekend I went on a whirlwind trip to LA, sort of a do-over of August's disappointing six-day hurlathon. And this time I had way more funs. Why I ...

... went to Vendela's reading at Book Soup (bonus Julie Orringer was great, too) and afterward we toddled up to The (design-fraught, fabulously expensive) Standard for drinks and spinach and some juicy rock staring at the lead singer of Weezer, impossible to ignore as he was, sitting over there in the ignore-me corner, in his ignore-me hoodie, and ... agressively recognizable spectacles. We also spotted Weezer.com's webmaster! (Pamie, for some reason, a reason that makes me find her only hotter still, could identify the Weezer.com webmaster with unwavering surety.) After that we went for a drink at Sky Bar, which was awash in a sea of aspiring blondes and smiling post-fraternity units who were all so perfectly perfect and just-as-I-imagined that they seemed like extras in the "Hollywood Hipster" scene of Beverly Hills Cop VII: Copping out. Axel didn't even need to be there, punching someone into the pool, because it was implied. You don't pronounce the "Axel puching someone into the pool" at Sky Bar, it's silent.

... went to the beach and even paddled around during a "red tide," though not a harmful or particularly stew-y variety. Just the sort of algae that, with the right kind of hot, hot conditions, overly multiplies and turns the water a rusty, bloody, horror-type red. (I did not put my head in.)

... saw my friend Jessica, who is all aglow with almost eight month's worth of baby on board, and who may have lined me up (so nice!) with some plum freelance writing work, which would be fantawesome if it works out. Cross your legs for me!

... was there when Sophia coined the term "ce-web-rity"! (Wait I just checked -- oh let's call a spade a shovel, I "googled it" -- and it turns out that "cewebrity" is already an established pseudo word. Gross.)

... actually ate and enjoyed and digested food! I gobbled salads and sandwiches and cakes at Sweet Lady Jane's with Mary Chen; I had iced lattes and treats with sweet Pamie; I enjoyed some Korean morsels with China and her "new" boyfriend (who is cute, smart, happily ensconced in an interesting profession (food!), and able to tolerate too much talk about people he knows or cares nothing about: twelve plus points); I had a chard, cheddar, chicken-apple sausage, and red pepper omelette with Jeffrey (who taught me yet another valuable lesson in a fourteen-year-long-line of valuable lessons: babies sure do love beards!); I ate like a baker's dozen peanut butter sandwiches with my hosts, Sophia and Jonathan and Lulu and Dinah and Rex; I went OUT to Beverly Hills for sausage-and-artichoke thin-crust pizza with Sophia and Jonathan; and I bought and tried and kind of wanted more of these weird, slightly medicinal cardamom sucking candies.

See? A good time really was had by all ... my stomachs.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries