evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

the winter dance (blurry pics + dress details)
Tuesday, Dec. 16, 2003 | link

This past Saturday was Jill's annual holiday RAGER (this year's theme: "The Winter Dance"). I danced and drank and squeezed people's parts and generally did whatever I could to migrate my name off the Nice list and over to the tippy top of Naughty. Until like 3:70 o'clock!

The pictures didn't turn out nearly as good this time around, partly because my supposedly fucktard-proof camera turns out to be for mensa Geena Davises?, and partly because someone effed up Jill's artful lighting set-up after about only three pictures had been taken. So while this early-on snap of Jill and Rhombus-strapped-into-Santa-suit looks all awesome ...


Santa sits in Jill's lap for a change.

... the bulk of the remaining pics are blurry and dark and unintentionally arty, like:


Huh?

I did manage to brighten/contrast/sharpen a few of the dingy, later-in-the-night pictures, but they're all still vying for the title "The Compromise":


Liz and Ivan, in their only simultaneous mug-free shot of the night.


Me, Godzilla-towering over Adrienne and Jay.


This is how you know whose site you're at right now: terrible picture of Liz, blah shot of Adrienne, the twinkly lights are magically unplugged, but who looks good in this picture? Evany Thomas looks good! Merry Christmas, everybody. (If you strain you can see the barest hint of the pointy, pointy pine and carnation Sweet Gesture Corsage that Jay gave me, right there, stapled on top of my head.)

I wore this really pretty dress -- black satin with red and yellow and cream flowery things -- that I got at Loehmann's for just $29.99 (marked down from $179!). It was strapless, though, which just does NOT work with my me -- strapless bras hold my rack in place, yes, but in a very bad place, like just above my bellybutton -- actually lower than they sit in nature (swear!). So I sewed in some fancy red and black silk ribbon straps, which performed the double-duty of hiding the straps of the BRAbra that held up my stuff AND "pulling in" the red of the stripes on my red-and-cream towering Fornarina ankle-strap shoes, which I was bent on wearing since I've managed to put them into action only once since I bought them in January.


Here you can semi-see the ribbon straps I added (notice how they're bowing and gapping ... I'm not the most patient of sewers, maybe).

There was some left-over ribbon, and at the last minute I turned it into these weird, dangly bracelet things, just looped them around my wrist and (Adrienne) pinned them into place using these random two-dollar letter pins from the Gap, an "f" and a "c" (Fucking Cute? Fine Cougar? For sCoring?), and let the excess ribbon dangle down. They made dipping into the salsa careful work, but looked very cutting-edge/confusing.


And here is a slightly brightened view of the quadrant featuring the freakishly high-fashion ribbon bracelets. (I wore them just for you. And you. Hi.)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries