evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

the glass is half full ... half full of urine
Tuesday, Jan. 07, 2003 | link

You always hear people complain about their hideous driver's license pictures. But let me tell you, having a cute picture, which I do, I really do, really, is actually kind of worse.

I was at the post office last week, and the sociopath postmistress took a look at my ID and said, "Hahaha, you look much better as a blonde!" (It's important to note that the picture was taken SIX YEARS ago, back when I was vaguely tan and had long, bleached-white hair piled on my head, versus what I am now: 32 and pale as a tuber with short, black, lonely-goth hair.) And I said, "Hey, thanks!" not out of sarcasm but because her upbeat, smiling delivery confused me momentarily into thinking that she'd actually given me a compliment. But then my brain caught up with my mouth, like three hours later, and I managed to squeeze out a little pout at her just in time.

Most people just scream "Wow! You look SO GREAT in this picture! I mean, seriously. Wow." And it always feels like a kind of backhanded compliment. Like the cuteness of the picture is only noteworthy because it looks nothing like me in real life -- I mean, if I my real-life cuteness was as advanced as the cuteness in that picture, why would anyone make such a big deal out of it?

But I'm used to it. My first driver's license picture, taken on my sixteenth birthday (the very day I lost my virginity!) was also problematically cute. I think that's one of my innate talents: I'm incredibly photogenic, but only every ten years, and only at the DMV. It's a talent that is only outshined by my amazing ability to find the con in any pro.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries