evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

she's got to halve it
[UPDATED Wed.] Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2004 | link

I agree with everything hot Sarah has to say in her (typically) articulate and well-reasoned rage against the low-carb craziness. Except ... I like C2. I think it tastes good! In my mouth!

I'm not sure what's happening to my tooth, but over the years, it's getting less and less sweet, at least in certain arenas -- my capacity for sweetness knows no bounds when it comes, for instance, to s'mores or princess cake. But I've stopped putting sugar in my coffee, I had to halve the sugar in my family's multi-generational recipe for hot fudge sauce (the original, full-sugar version was so incredibly sweet, it made my ASS sweat, I swear), and now Coke comes with half the sugar? Right on/right on.

But I think it's gross that it isn't enough to bill C2 as Coke's "less sugar" sister, instead they have to ride the whole "less carbs" cuckoo train. The two concepts mean essentially the same thing, more sugar means more carbohydrates, but marketing C2 as "low-carb" just goes to show how far and deep the carb bigotry has gone. If Coke's on board, then America has truly lots its mind.

Meanwhile, I am developing a strong, deep, terrified fascination for KFC's frantic Chicken Capital USA [sic?] campaign. I think I saw the ads three or four times before I actually saw them. Like trying to gaze into our sun that shines so fierce, it's difficult to look directly at all those slim, clear-skinned, America-loving youths manic ho-downing to the "beat of their own drumstick." But finally, through the short glimpses caught from the corner of one cringing eye, they began to seep in. "The bucket stops here" tee shirt? Gross. Genius. (Yet I can't help but wonder if maybe it's a reference not to a bucket full of breasts, CHICKEN breasts, but to the spittoon that housed every bite of chicken those models spit out on the bright, shining day the ad was shot.) And then the whole "right wing, left wing, I-don't-give-a-shit wing!" thing, so giddily timely! I also love the "Give me a Beak!" and "Slaughterhouse RULES!" part of the campaign.

The only campaign that's even close to as awesome is Taco Bell's "I'm FINALLY full" thing, which is truly great. It's like we've finally identified the one thing consumers want: to feel uncomfortably full. And wait, I just remembered, KFC and Taco Bell are the same company! Oh man. What a force. USA!

In happier news, this month Glamour Magazine is running this piece where they asked diet-deprived women to spend one month eating whatever they wanted, and they ... LOST WEIGHT! Admittedly the story has a real less-than-scientific vibe. It isn't at all clear how many women they included in the experiment. Did EVERY woman they let off the leash lose weight? I don't know. But the pattern represented by the five women included in the piece makes sense to me.

They each spent the first few days, or even week, in an eating frenzy, unhinging their jaws and downing eighty pizzas, etc. But eventually their bodies revolted, and the women found themselves craving healthier foods, in smaller portions and at saner intervals. It's like, once they broke the tie between food and guilt, once their brains and emotions and self-worth were blocked out of the equation, their bodies' instinctive understanding for what is good and healthy kicked in. Just as I've always, always suspected! And, man, all the more reason to never, ever push your kid on a diet.

- - - - - - - -

Great Grandmother's Hot Fudge Sauce (sugar-lite version)

1 c. sugar
1/2 c. water
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 Tbs butter
Pinch salt
1-2 cinnamon sticks

Boil to soft ball* stage (don't overdo it!), pour over ice cream (vanilla works best ... anything else gets a little busy) and eat. Second helpings are mandatory.


* Haha, no okay: to determine whether your sauce has reached the soft ball stage, fill a glass with water and drip in a drop of the sauce. If it hangs together (versus dissipating into the water), your work is done.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries