evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

you're the man now, dog
Sunday, Feb. 20, 2005 | link

You know how something exciting will happen to a dog (a cornered cat, a dead squirrel), and the spot where said excitement played out -- such and such bush on such and such corner -- will forevermore hold a deep and lasting enchantment for the dog? Which is weird, right, because it took a period of rewarding repetition before Pavlov's dogs started salivating along with the bell. I don't know, maybe if something is SUPER EXTRA EXCITING, the experience is powerful enough to permanently brand a dog's brain after just one go-through. Of course as human observers, we laugh and marvel to see the dog race to the same exact bench under which a rotten hamburger was unearthed a full three years before. The idea that another rotten hamburger would find its way to that exact location just seems so cute, the plucky optimism of it.

But then who just caught herself circling back to the same Crossroads where once, two years ago, a fine jean jacket was purchased for just SEVEN DOLLARS? And then who went to the very same rack in the very same corner that the jean jacket had first been spotted, unreasonable hope swelling inside her that the perfect, panaceatic coat was sure to be found there, just as once it had been found before? Is one of us supposed to be a DOG in this scenario? I'm the dog? I'm the dog?



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries