evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

nice things warming up on deck
Wenesday, Feb. 23, 2005 | link

Last Night: I managed to stumble upon a new favorite music act, thanks to a nudge from Anne (whose Lakeshore resale store Maribel just got a plug in this month's Lucky local guide!), who took me to see Bart Davenport and his band do a kind of snug Steely Beatles thing with live drum machine and impossible 70's-tiny boy asses tucked away in impossible 70's-tiny jeans, plus a man in a beaded sparkler sweater playing two recorders AT ONCE -- on the whole, one of those bright lights that remind you how happy you are to live on a planet that supports such exotic life forms.

Tonight: holy wow, Jay wins Project Runway! Sometimes they get it right after all. So satisfying!

[Ha! I'm aiming with Jill right now, it's 11:37pm my time, which means it's late o'clock where she is, but I just got a "phone" from her, which is aim for "please hold, I suddenly find myself on the phone, but I hope to return shortly," and then, a few seconds later, she messaged, "drunk rock star." Hahaha. Jill's life may be quiet and icy and wild-turkeyed right now, during her ten-month sequester on the east coast, but some things never change. DRS! The ultimate shorthand for "please excuse my sudden absence, but ... you understand."]

Tomorrow night (Thursday, 2/24): First I'm going to the McSweeney's Issue 15 reading at Valencia Street Books (569 Valencia) at 7pm. After that, The Morning Line (easy on the eyes and aurals and with a handsome and sweet new five-song CD) plays Hotel Utah, show starts at 9 -- I'll be the supiciously tan man drinking dark drinks in the corner.

Soon: One of my all-time favorite people, Heidi, is moving back to the Bay Area! One look at her revamped crochet site, the erudite, engrossing, and satisfyingly tidy Picot by Heidi, and you'll see one of the many reasons why I'm so excited at the thought of having a quality someone such as Heidi close at hand.

Beginning of March: Ivan and Liz move into their brand new house! With a nice, long yard and garage big enough for Ivan's nine motorcyles, and wood floors (with wood inlaid STARS, what?). Such good news!

And in the not-so-distance: Steven's short film Disarmed is making its official debut this March! I was on the sidelines way back in the beginning of this project, and I've seen and heard a few tempting glimpses along the way, so it's really going to be a delight to see it all in one, fell swoop, yay!

- - - - - - - -

This past weekend Marco and I were walking around my neighborhood when a street man came up to us and asked Marco, "How did you get a white girl?" And I said, "Oh, there's lots of us out there." And Marco added, "I actually got her at the mall."



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries