evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

san francisco moments
Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2005 | link

Riding the train yesterday to work, a man got on who -- while clean and semi-normally dressed -- was clearly crazy. You could tell by the way he moved. Also, he was just a touch too tan? And his bangs were fluffed out from under his baseball cap in a sort of modified Thompson Twins. He sat down in front of me, opened up his laptop, and started blasting horrible, horrible music. I peeked through the seats and saw he was actually watching some kind of live concert footage (Kenny Rogers?), just tapping and slapping along. Then he turned to the guy sitting across the aisle from him.

"Can you believe it's been ten years, bro?"

(Bro!)

"I'm sorry, what?" said bro.

"Jerry! Ten years since Jerry died."

Oh. The Grateful Dead. Oh.

- - - - - - - -

evany: Oh man so they were filming Rent, worst movie ever, in sf?
todd: NO!!!
evany: And a parade sequence walked through my day one sunday
todd: fucking rent.
todd: a dumb play made so much dumber through a film production
todd: I saw the trailer and nearly lost my shit.
evany: And I was confused, like why are all these punk-dirty kids carrying furniture? But I immediately assumed it was some crazy local issue and just turned away and bought some boutique chocolates. [EXPLAINER: this conversation bloomed from previous comments about San Francisco's loving way of confusing an earnest and self-righteous stand with humor (critical mass, wandering parades full of sagging banners touting contradictory messages, and darwin fish).]
evany: The trailer! It's like a warning!
todd: it is!
todd: the trailer might as well be a trailer for eye cancer.
todd: COMING THIS WINTER
evany: That singing!
evany: What the living HELL?
todd: that smiling!
evany: I tried to describe it to people and could not capture its fuckiness
todd: the smiling at each other parts??
todd: fuck.
todd: smiling/singing?
todd: adam rappaporting?
todd: adam rapp?
todd: is that his name?
evany: The lit from abovingness????
todd: the arms spread wideness on tenement rooftops?
evany: It also seemed perhaps 20 minutes long, the trailer
todd: FUCK
todd: it was like a 3 minute long hate crime.
evany: Hahahaha
evany: Though I just realized right now I am typing and walking, with my pedometer and lunch sneakers on, and perhaps not standing on the firmest grounds for finger-pointing?



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries