evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

beholden to camper van beethoven
Thursday, Aug. 28, 2002 | link

Last Saturday, Jill, Liz, and I hit The Great American Music Hall, another one of the city's cuter venues -- Liz did an amazing triple twisting inward to get us a parking spot a block away, something that involved flipping a tit, pulling halfway into an intersection, then backing up a one-way street. About two minutes after we walked in, Camper Van Beethoven launched into the first of two hour-long sets.

The show was super fun, and the crowd was way into it, particularly the eight-thousand foot guy that stood in front of us and yelled random freaky things at individual members of the band, all the while doing his puppet-master dance: one hand held up high and in front, swaying back and forth as though he were commanding the movements of everyone on stage.

And then afterwards, the three of us went back stage! Before you go thinking that I'm well-connected, stop! I'm merely, happily connected to well-connected people -- "well-connected, once removed" maybe. So yeah, it was all Liz and Jill, who are both old friends with some of the CVB boys (Liz from way back the "Santa Cruz days," even).

Anyway, BACKSTAGE! After going down some steep, steep (like maybe not up to regulation?) stairs and catacombing back under the stage, we found ourselves in a surprisingly chilly, surprisingly quiet little room filled with clumps of people hanging around and chatting. And free beer! And booze!

I wasn't particularly in the mood for a drink, so I pretty much just sat there on an old vinyl couch, sucking down some vinegar chips and enjoying the people-peeping. Every once in awhile, I'd think, wait! Free beer! But then I went and had myself a very adult thought (one of three, to date): Just because it's free, doesn't mean I have to drink it. I make enough money now to buy the fluids I want, when I want them.

So yes, the beer was free. And now, so am I.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries