evany's extended cake mix
(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)
get the latest
march 2008
december 2007
october 2007
may 2007
april 2007
march 2007
february 2007
january 2007
december 2006
november 2006
october 2006
september 2006

get the rest
archived entries

get more
my history
my writing
my crafty
my misc
my email

get into my head from twitter:

get my book

the secret language of sleep: learn more, buy more, or take the sleep test!

get involved
give books to beleaguered libraries via the amazing dewey donation system!

get your own
diaryland

eating the vote, rocking the cake
Wednesday, Nov. 06, 2002 | link

So almost every measure I voted against sailed to victory, and all the ones I voted for failed, oh except medical marijuana, and since that conflicts with federal law and will probably never be enacted, it's really more of a "sending a message" kind of thing (the message being "feel free to ignore San Francisco because they're all totally high"). I'm thinking of offering my services as a jinx: Want your pet proposition to pass? For $500, I'll vote against it.

Yesterday wasn't a complete failure, though: The "Independent Lit" seminar I helped organize for 14 Hills went really well, and everyone loved the treats Liz and I brought from her bakery, Miette. Ever since Liz started working there, I've been getting lots of hot treat action, way more than a bad girl like me deserves: chocolate creme fraiche cake, german chocolate cake, pumkin spice cake, lemon custard tart, rosemary shortbread cookies, lime sugar cookies, almond chocolate hamburger cookies. I try to say no to the leftovers and seconds, and seconds of seconds, I really do, but it's all so crazy good! And Liz delivers them right to my door! And, you know, it's all organic!

Do you think maybe she's trying to fatten me up before she brings me to market? I wouldn't blame her. Just imagine the sweet, sweet, sweet taste of a pig fed nothing but a steady diet of Miette morsels!

The buttery offerings are all the more welcome now that I can finally taste again, after a full week of feverish congestion and rack-racking coughing. I'm still producing all kinds of snot, but the shipments are a lot less frequent now.

Since I was sick all last week, my list of activities was dramatically shortened from the "costume baby shower and drinks, rock show, rock show, fancy dinner" I had planned to "bought book shelf". But the bookshelf is really tall and heavy, and I had to IKEA it together myself, so it felt like a major hurdle. And now you finally see just how little it takes to self impress me these days.



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)



(PS: My diary has officially moved over to my official evany.com website. Let's meet up over there!)


archived entries